We met Her Majesty last weekend …

The hubs and I opened the hives last Saturday, April 18, but I hadn’t posted about it yet because by the time I got done looking at the pictures, the pine pollen had emerged and … I’ve been down with a blistering sinus headache for the past four days. But I’m back now, so here’s the exciting news The Hubs got some great pictures of Queen Thyme!!!

Without further ado:

They haven't done anything in the second box yet, but they have built all the way out into Frame #8
They haven’t done anything in the second box yet, but they have built all the way out into Frame #8
Lots and lots of capped brood, and a few cells with dark residue from pupae inside, looks like a few new bees have emerged recently.
Lots and lots of capped brood, and a few cells with dark residue from pupae inside. Looks like a few new baby worker bees have emerged recently.
And there she is, ladies and gentlemen ... The Queen of Thyme. Hey, wait, I kind of like that ... that may be a novel title someday!
And there she is, ladies and gentlemen: The Queen of Thyme. Hey, wait, I kind of like that … that may be a novel title someday! Do you see her? Look closely – she’s very different from the others if you know what to look for. Long abdomen, light colored, short wings… got her?
She's really FAST. It only took a couple of seconds for her to get from the bottom of that frame to up here at the top. Can you spot her now? (If you can't, I'll put a marked-up pic at the bottom of the post ;)
She’s really FAST. It only took a couple of seconds for her to get from the bottom of that frame to up here at the top. Can you spot her now? (If you can’t, I’ll put the marked-up pics at the bottom of the post 😉 )
This was an oddity that I haven't seen before - apparently the girls decided to
This was an oddity that I haven’t seen before – apparently the girls decided to “uncap” a pupa that was not yet fully developed (white thing, center frame.) I’m sure they had a good reason but I don’t know what it was. I’ll ask some more experienced beekeepers. I love having pictures to go with my silly questions!
In case you couldn't spot her above: Her Royal Thymeness!
In case you couldn’t spot her above: Her Royal Thymeness! See how much longer she is than the others?

IMG_9684QMarked

Up close and personal with royalty.
Up close and personal with royalty.
3 thoughts on “We met Her Majesty last weekend …

  1. Any update on the uncapped pupa? Our first thought was hygienic behavior, that the pupa smelled ill or varroa-ridden and the bees were disposing of it. But in that case they would not stop at uncapping. They would remove the larva/pupa from the cell and dispose of it.

    Like

    1. That is my best guess for now, that it was a hygienic practice. My mentor believes that they were in-process – they had uncapped the pupa because something was wrong with it, but I opened the hive for inspection before they had finished dragging it out. This is a newly-shaken package and I haven’t seen any signs of varroa yet, but of course the ladies will know about it way before I do! Or there could have been something else wrong with that particular pupa.

      Like

Leave a Reply

