Ready as we’ll ever be …

First – the hubs made me some special storage in our outdoor “greenshed” (it’s a shed with a translucent roof and a lot of windows, so it works as a part-time greenhouse.)

Frames and boxes enough for at least my first full year.
Frames and boxes enough for at least my first full year.

I used paving base gravel and sand to get the stands as level as possible. Since I’m not using foundation, the bees only have gravity to help them draw out the comb straight, so the hives have to be completely level.

Bag of paving stone base gravel
Paver Gravel
Bubble level on pavers
Pavers level.

I only bought one hive stand – it was a little bit expensive so I thought I should see how I liked it before I spent too much. So Rosemary Hive is on cinderblocks for now, Thyme Hive is on the stand with a frame rest.

Beehive on cinderblock stand
Rosemary Hive with hive-top feeder and entrance reducer in place, ready for package installation!
Beehive on black hive stand.
Thyme Hive ready to go.

I made up a watering hole for them. I planted around the edges with chives, mint, lemon thyme, and oregano.

Planter pot filled with water and plants.
Water set up and things planted in and around. The water lilies are fake for now, but the rhizomes for the real ones are installed.
Rosemary and Thyme in the new yard.
Rosemary and Thyme in the new yard. Still need to mix up a bit more soil for around the paving rocks before I plant the creeping thyme.
Leave a Reply

